Gratefulness

Family, Holidays

Today is “Thanksgiving”.  Although I don’t enjoy the historical context of this “holiday” I do appreciate the time to pause and reflect in gratefulness. With long work hours,  countless tantrum melt downs that require redirection , missed hours of sleep,  endless errands and unanswered emails it becomes easy for me to get flustered in the “day to day” rituals and forget to pause at times to simply give thanks and to appreciate the moments, even the simple ones.

Being a new mommy reminds me to have those moments more often. Sometimes they come unexpectedly. Like now,  I was in the kitchen with my father trying to learn the secret to making his great gravy but the toddler meltdowns began and continued with no end in sight.  Having the death grip of those tiny hands into my thighs as I’m blending, in a tripod stance, is not quite how I envisioned creating this memory.  So now we’re watching lullaby’s and eating frijoles. Not quite the traditional picture of “Thanksgiving” but for this very moment I am very grateful!

What are you grateful for today?

 

 

 

One thought on “Gratefulness

Comments are closed.